Salem Community High School Academic Foundation REGULAR MEETING May 11, 2023

The Salem Community High School Academic Foundation Board of Directors meeting was called to order by Sheila Baldridge in the high school boardroom.

Directors present: Sheila Baldridge, Don Decker, John Gaston, Debby Hays, Rhonda Mulvany, James Toth, and Debbie Woodruff.

Also present: Brad Detering, SCHS Superintendent

Minutes

The minutes from the regular meeting on April 12, 2023 were reviewed. A motion by John Gaston, seconded by Don Decker, to approve the minutes.

Vote: 6 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

John Gaston reviewed the treasurer's report which showed an April 30, 2023 balance of \$292,763.90

John Gaston reviewed the profit loss statement that showed a profit of \$3,099.22 for the month which ended April 30, 2023. A total profit for the year to date is \$57,654.99

A motion was made by Debbie Woodruff, seconded by Debby Hays, to receive the treasurer's report. Vote: 6 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

Director Rhonda Mulvany arrived at the meeting at 12:08 PM.

Committee Reports

Membership-No report

Publicity-Debbie Woodruff discussed the Salem and Marion County Bicentennial weekend and concert. The concert on June 30th would be a great opportunity to have an informational table and membership applications. Additionally, Debbie presented information from Mark Larimer about having displays about Salem High School. Brad Detering indicated that Mark Larimer had also approached the Salem High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Scholarship-Debby Hays thanked the committee for their time and efforts. Their work has wrapped up for the school year with the scholarships and the selection of Teacher of the Year.

The list of scholarships present on Monday, May 8 that run through the Academic Foundation is listed at the end of the minutes.

A motion was made by Debbie Woodruff, seconded by Rhonda Mulvany, to transfer \$1,000 from the general fund to the Robert Raver Scholarship account.

Vote: 7 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

Hall of Fame-No report

Fundraising-No report

Other Business

Debbie Woodruff informed the Board that she would like to pursue a banquet for 2023-24 for the Top 10% where the students recognize staff members from the high school. Discussion was held about the feasibility of a dinner vs ceremony. Discussion was held about the number of students since the school no longer recognizes class rank.

Adjourn

At 12:40 P.M., Debbie Woodruff made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by James Toth, Vote: 7 ayes, 0 nay, meeting adjourned.

Scholarship List:

SHANNON HEFLIN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIPS

BOBBY GOOSTREE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Logan Bandy

Marissa WIlliams Ellee Bumgarner

DR. ROBERT RAVER SCHOLARSHIP SCHMIDT FORD FUTURE FISHING

SCHOLARSHIPS Alek Bandy

Seth Bailey **VETERANS SCHOLARSHIP Brogan Gregg**

Ashlyn Carson **Hunter Russell**

MADDIE FINCH MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP SCHMIDT FORD FUTURE MECHANIC

SCHOLARSHIPS Alayna Williams Zoelie Bledsoe

AUSTIN FREEMAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Kvle Kurwicki Madison Smith

SOMER REAL ESTATE FUTURE BROKER HEFLIN SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIP SCHOLARSHIP

Isaak Williams **Hunter Russell**

HARRY MAXEY & JANE MAXEY BRAUER LARRY MALONE ARTS AND LETTERS

SCHOLARSHIP SCHOLARSHIP Kannon King Savanna Davis

BEN BAGGETT SCHOLARSHIP KIM MULVANY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Kenadie Hancock Maisie Griffin

GALE BAKER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP SELMAVILLE EDUCATION ASSOCIATION

Brogan Gregg SCHOLARSHIP Marissa Wooters

RICHARD E. CRUISE MUSIC SCHOLARSHIP Teyah Cape

JACOB WILLIAMS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Areesa Fisenhauer